for you…

The image in this header is of a sculpture that I found at the Rodin museum in Paris.  I remember wandering through the city streets that morning trying to find the entrance to this hidden museum.  When I walked through the stone gate, I held in my breath when I saw The Thinker just sitting there, as if waiting to greet me.  I’d been in Paris about two weeks at that point and each day was surprised at how much beauty the city was filled with.

I came across this sculpture inside the museum tucked away in a corner.  The light coming through the window danced on it’s form and made the two figures come to life.  I stood there for a while just soaking it all in.  I felt almost intrusive, a voyeur, starring that these figures intertwined.   But I also felt more at peace then I had in a very long time.

I feel like I talk about Paris more then I should.  It’s so hard to explain just how important that point of my life was.  I was slowly destructing, I was spiriling downward fast and I didn’t know how to get back into control.  It was that summer, being so far away from it all, that I found my two feet again.

I have a close friend who is going through her own struggles.  This girl has meant so much to me over the past 16 years.  Even though we’d grown apart for a few years here and there, I am so thankful that she has been in my life.  I know she doesn’t believe it, I know regardless of how many times friends and family tell her it’s going to be okay, she won’t believe it until she’s ready to.

I have many incredible memories of Paris that will be with me always.  I found out so much about myself during that summer, pieces of me that I never even knew existed.  This day is one that I will never forget.  The beauty of that space will stay with me forever.  It was this day that I realized how much more there was then what I had lost.

I promise, one day you will do the same.

xo

One thought on “for you…

  1. I spent quite a while in the garden myself. I was taken more with the Burghers of Calais and the Gates of Hell then some of the other sculptures. I’ve come to the conclusion that Paris is always most memorable the first time you’re there.

Leave a Reply

