the time that I realized I’ll never be Carrie Bradshaw…

As with a lot of girls my age, I went through my 20’s watching shows such as Friends and Sex in the City.  I dreamt of living in New York City in an incredible apartment with amazing friends.  In my dreams, I was wearing designer clothes, going to fancy parties and sitting around with my equally fabulous girlfriends talking about how lucky we were to be so great.

I never thought my life quite measured up to what it was supposed to be.   My early 20’s weren’t so fabulous and weren’t going the way TV was telling me they should.  Truth be told, I was a little bit dissapointed that I couldn’t be more like Carrie Bradshaw.

Over the past little while I’ve been re-examining my life.  I’ve been looking at where I am, what I’m going, what I’ve done, and I have to be honest, it’s not what I wanted 10 years ago.  But, I’m not saying that it’s worse.

True, I don’t go to swishy parties with celebrities and fashionistas.  But, nothing can hold a candle to girls night with a board game and a bottle of wine.   My dreams of cute little apartments overlooking the park come second to my house that I bought with my husband.

I’ve realized that I’ll never be Carrie Bradshaw, but I’ve ended up with something even better.

Leave a Reply

