finally… but what…

I’ve been having a hard time posting.  Not for lack of time, but just not wanting to know what to write about.  I could totally gush about how great the little guy is, but post after post of that may get a little tiring.  Then again, it is my blog so really does it matter ;)

I guess I could write about how he stopped sleeping through the night nearly a month ago.  How, before that, he slept through like a champ at the young age of just six weeks.  We have plenty of theories on why this has happened.  It’s karma for bragging so much about what an awesome sleeper he is and we just don’t understand why other babies can’t sleep as well as him.  We wonder if his constant drooling and waking up through the night means that there’s a stubborn tooth that just won’t pop through that’s keeping our little angel from a full nights sleep.  Lastly, I wonder if it’s just this  sleep regression I keep hearing about and get reassured that he will soon sleep through the night again.

Part of me gets frustrated – I know he can sleep through the night.  This waking up at night isn’t consistent, he’ll sleep through for several days and then have a few days where he’s up anywhere from once to three times a night.  Part of me wants to buy books on sleep training to learn what to do to help with his sleep, maybe some of these ‘experts’ can shed some insight on what we need to do to help this along.  It’s not like he’s waking up to play or because he’s awake.  As soon as you place your hands on him in that crib he stops, once you start picking him up his eyes shut again and he quickly curls up into your arms and goes back to fast asleep.  It’s not that easy though, after holding him and snuggling and rocking for a bit when we try to put him back in his crib, his eyes pop open and he cries and cries until you pick him up once again.

Some nights, this works.  Other nights, it doesn’t.  And, to be honest, part of me enjoys these nights.  These nights when I’m too tired to try again and I sneak him downstairs and we cuddle up in the big easy chair surrounded with pillows and blankets.  It’s these nights when we lie there, cuddling, just the two of us, before the sun is even thinking of coming up and it feels as if we are the only two people in the world where I think that all the sleepless nights are worth it for these few moments.

Part of me wonders if he’s waking up because he loves this too.

Leave a Reply

