max and ruby…

Okay – so, I’ve started to let Joey watch cartoons.  They’re not THAT bad, are they?  It gives Mommy a few moments of peace a day to do important things like wash the dishes and… er… surf the net ;)   I’m not new to cartoons.  I have plenty of nieces and nephews so I’m well versed on the who’s who of the Treehouse world.  One of the shows I’m not that into, but Joey seems to enjoy (of course) is Max and Ruby.  Seriously.  Where the heck are these kids parents?

That question is one that my siblings and I regularily discuss (sad, yes) as we try to figure out where they are.  You can google Where Are Max and Ruby’s parents and you’ll find a ton of pages dedicated to the topic.  People have plenty of theories, some are quite far fetched.  We’ve come up with some of our own.  Max and Ruby are latch key kids.  Alchoholics passed out on the couch.  The list goes on.  I decided to get to the bottom of it and asked the kids.  My Niece responded just with, there ARE no parents and became quite upset when I pushed the topic.  Like, she didn’t really want to think too hard about it – they just aren’t there, okay?

Then, I asked my 7 year old Nephew wondering what his thoughts were.  He thought about it, seemed as if he’d never noticed it before and finally, after a few moments said “I think that they’re dead”.

…..

Well then.  There you have it.

Leave a Reply

